Honoring the leaders who inspire us

AFP Advancement Northwest continues the Northwest Development Officers Association (NDOA)’s longstanding tradition of honoring one fundraising professional each year who exemplifies the highest standards of ethics, achievement, and commitment. Recipients of the Professional Achievement Award have included development directors, executive directors, major gift officers, and consultants. All share a commitment to mentoring others; walking the talk of philanthropy through community service and raising funds for important mission-based organizations; and the embodiment of integrity, professionalism, and excellence. 

2017 Professional Achievement Award Winner

Lee Heck
Associate Vice President for Individual Giving
University of Washington


Past Professional Achievement Award Winners

2017 - Lee Heck, University of Washington
2016 - Janet Aldrich Jacobs, CFRE, CAP, 
Make-A-Wish Alaska and Washington
2015 - Mary Kaufman-Cranney
, The Nature Conservancy in Washington
2014 - Thomas W. Mesaros
, CFRE, formally The Alford Group (pictured at right)
2013 - Lynn Hogan, UW Medicine
2012 - Jane Ewing, Cornish College of the Arts
2011-  Robert W. Davidson, Seattle Aquarium
2010 - Susie Burdickformally Hearing, Speech & Deafness Center
2009 - Sonya Campion, The Campion Foundation
2008 - Terry Collings, Seattle Public Library Foundation
2007 - Laura Rehrmann, Group Health Community Foundation
2006 - Janet Boguch, Non-Profit Works
2005 - Michele Hasson
2004 - Stuart Grover, PhD, The Collins Group
2003 - Barry McConnell, Make-A-Wish Foundation
2002 - Lynn Schrader, CFRE
2001 - Susan Howlett, Consultant
2000 - Jacquelyn B. Ostrom, Third Sector Consulting
1999 - Mary Ann Ranta, Children's Hospital Foundation
1998 - Rodney Wheeler, United Way of King County
1997 - Ed Larson, Pacific Lutheran University
1996 - Rita Ryder, YWCA Seattle-King County
1995 - Jane Carlson Williams, The Seattle Foundation
1994 - Marlys Erickson, Market Foundation
1993 - Arthur Jacobus, Pacific Northwest Ballet
1992 - Marilyn Dunn, University of Washington
1991 - Edward C. Schumacher, Salmon Bay Associates
1990 - Doug Picha, Children's Hospital Foundation
1989 - Anne Farrell, The Seattle Foundation
1988 - Dale Bailey, Independent Colleges of Washington
1987 - Shirley Bushnell, University of Puget Sound
1986 - Pat Lewis, Camp Fire
1985 - Frank Minton, University of Washington

*Awardees are listed with affiliations at the time of each award was given.